The Icelandic government expressed its regrets for the Russian government’s decision on adding Iceland to the list of countries that are subjected to an import ban to Russia, according to a statement released Thursday by Iceland’s Foreign Ministry.

“This decision is deeply disappointing. We will continue the dialogue ministers and officials have had with our Russian counterparts in recent weeks to explain the position of Iceland and the economic interests involved,” said Gunnar Bragi Sveinsson, Iceland’s Minister for Foreign Affairs.

Russian Prime Minister Dmitry Medvedev announced earlier Thursday that Russia has extended food trade ban to five more countries. The five countries are Albania, Montenegro, Iceland, Liechtenstein and Ukraine (with reservations).

Since last August, Russia has banned food imports from the EU, the United States, Canada and Australia, in retaliation for their anti-Russian sanctions introduced due to Russia’s alleged role in the ongoing Ukraine crisis.

Iceland, Montenegro, Albania, Norway, Liechtenstein, Ukraine and Georgia have earlier confirmed to the EU their decisions to extend sanctions on Russia for a year.

On Aug. 6, Russia started to destroy foods from the blacklisted countries by the order of President Vladimir Putin.