MUMBAI: The Reserve Bank of India will soon issue 10-rupee bank notes with the signature of Governor Raghuram Rajan.

The notes of 10-rupee denomination in the Mahatma GandhiSeries-2005 bearing the signature of Governor Rajan will be issued shortly, the central bank said in a release today.

The notes will bear the rupee symbol on the obverse and reverse sides, with inset letter A in both numbering panels.

The year of issue, 2014, will be printed on the reverse side of the notes, it added.

“The design of these notes to be issued now is similar in all respects to the Rs 10 bank notes in Mahatma Gandhi Series-2005 issued earlier,” it said.

All bank notes of Rs 10 denomination issued in the past will continue to be legal tender, the RBI added.