NEW DELHI: The Centre has allocated foodgrain to 10 states under the National Food Security Act as these states have started its implementation, Parliament was informed today.

In a written reply to the Rajya SabhaFood Minister K V Thomas said: “Foodgrain under the Act has been allocated so far to 10 states/UTs as per the progress in identificationof beneficiaries reported by them.”

Haryana was the first state which started implementation of food security plan in September last year. Rajasthan, Delhi, Himachal Pradesh followed Haryana in October while Punjab started the programme in December. Karnataka and Chhattisgarh started it in January this year, while Uttrakhand, Maharashtra and Chandigarh began the plan in February.

“Rest of states are at different levels of preparedness to implement the Act. These states are being persuaded to complete identification of households and other preparatory work within the stipulated time and begin implementation of the Act,” the Minister said.

In September last year, Parliament passed the food law to give 67 per cent of the population the right to subsidised foodgrains.

National Food Security Act entitles 82 crore people to 5 kg of foodgrains per person a month at Rs 1-3 per kg. The country needs 62 million tonnes foodgrains in a year to implement the law. Each eligible person would get 5 kg of foodgrain a month at Rs 3 per kg for rice, Rs 2 per kg for wheat and Re 1 per kg for coarse cereals through the State Government under the PDS.