Background and objective of event:

In line with the mandate of the Fifth BRICS Summit Declaration and eThekwini Action Plan, Minister Derek Hanekom will host Science, Technology and Innovation (STI) Ministers from Brazil, Russia, India and China (BRICS). The BRICS STI Ministers will deliberate on issues focussing on strengthening STI cooperation, including mapping out future collaborative initiatives and projects.

From Sunday, 9 February 2014 at 08h00 to Wednesday, 12 February 2014 at 17h00.
Venue: Cape Town, Western Cape

Role of Minister/DG/officials

Meeting will be hosted by Minister Derek Hanekom. DG, DDG: ICR and officials to participate.

Contact persons:
Neville Arendse
Tel: 012 843 6315

Mosa Setlaba
Tel: 012 843 6476

Issued by: Department of Science and Technology